Working on vacations

630x355 (11)

I am on the internet at home again. I don’t know what we did, but I’m thanking the Lord that I have internet and praying that it lasts.. I also want to let you know that starting this next week, I am going to be in and out. We have several visits coming up with family and friends. I am going to just feel out if and how much I should work during these visits. I know that the holidays will be here before we know it.. But let me get started on this so that I can get to some other things.

Let’s go on and talk some more about working while on vacation. Should we mix business and pleasure, or should we not?. And let me say something about where I am on this question. I’m disabled, and though this is getting less frequent, sometimes I have to go with my Mom to get the care we have to have. I usually do not work when we are making quick trips to see family or friends. I will take off holiday time when my family gathers to celebrate. When we make longer visits, I’ll usually work a couple of hours each day to do the necessary things. And if I know there are certain parts of the day that are going to be quieter, I will use that time to work.

But anyway, back to you.. If you can do work ahead of your vacation, do that. Putting in some extra time at work may help you feel better about taking some time away. But when you do leave work especially for the last time before your vacation, please be sure to leave work behind. And don’t think about work the entire time you are gone. That will not give you a true break.

Let the people you work for and with know that you are traveling. Set up your out-of-office message on your computer and your phone. Ask coworkers to help you out.

If you are working while traveling, you might want to consider having a set time to work, and either get up earlier or stay up later to get things done. Sometimes you can also work on public transportation.

I would love to know any ideas you might have about all of this. Please let me know.

Leave a Reply

