But working on vacation is not a good idea

I know what I wrote yesterday. I know I work on vacation from time to time myself. But under ideal circumstances, it is best not to work on vacation. Here are some reasons why.

  • First, our bodies are designed so that we need extended times of rest.. For myself, unless there is a crisis, I do not work on Sundays. Not only do I not work, I try not to be on my computer, and have an extended time to be out my wheelchair. Even then, I find myself wearing down and not being able to think if I am just working six days a week for several weeks in a row.
  • Work is stressful, no matter how much you enjoy what you do, no matter if your work is mostly mental or mostly physical. Working all the time is going to lead to health problems on down road. Taking no breaks is also going to lead to burn out.
  • You need time away to be sharp at work. Have you ever had a problem you could not figure out, until you set it aside for a while. And then when you came back to the  problem, it was much easier to figure out, wasn’t it?
  • It is important to take time out to relax and enjoy being with family and friends. We were made to need and be needed by others. We need time to enjoy ourselves.
Leave a Reply

